NetGalley Reviews by Widget-Challenged Luddite Carol Kean

NetGalley, I’m sorry I can’t figure out how to add your widget to my blog site. I’ve been working on it all afternoon.

http://netgalley.tumblr.com/wellness 

NetGalley provides digital review copies to professional readers, including booksellers, librarians, media, bloggers, reviewers and educators. “Always share Feedback about titles you’ve read” — but some books don’t pass my page-one test, and I’m on to one of the next 3000 titles in my Kindle. (Yes, that’s three thousand, or more.) If I can’t leave a positive review, I prefer not to post how much I dislike a novel. This is not very professional of me, I know, so I’ll crack down and leave more feedback even if it’s to say, “This book just didn’t grab me,” or “This book represents all that’s wrong with America today.”

I review 2 or 3 books a month for Amazon Vine (free paper copies come to me in the mail).

I review one or two novels a month for Perihelion Science Fiction.

NetGalley, please don’t give up on me just yet. I’ll sign your pledge (even though I hate the name “Wellness Challenge” and the idea of signing pledges). I’ll review more of your books, and fewer of Amazon’s, *if* your books grab me.

I archived and lost the book I wanted to start next,  “The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Eight” by  Jonathan Strahan. I swear I saw it in my Kindle. I selected the “archive” option at NetGalley’s site, and somehow that Black-Holed the book right out of my Kindle. Now I can’t access it.

Technology is killing me. I waste more time trying to get fonts and formats right at this blog, and reviews posted on time for the thousands of books that are competing for my attention.

Oddly, most of the books I’ve read and reviewed have come to me via “Free Today” promotions in Amazon’s daily newsletter. A lot of these indie authors are really talented. A lot of the New York Times Best-Selling authors do not win me over while an indie will. Who can predict? I’d be an Acquisitions Editor or a Publisher if I could forecast that one.

About carolkean

novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic for Liberty Island and Perihelion Science Fiction; native prairie/guerilla gardener; champion of liberty, indie authors & underdogs; one of the top two reviewers in Editors &Preditors Poll 2015; Amazon Vine, NetGalley Top Reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

