Vine Voice reviewer’s epic article on Dystopian Sci-Fi @PerihelionSF

Novelist, software guru and Podcasting icon / Guest-Podster John L. Monk did me the great honor of reading my long essay AND telling the world he LIKES it. I love you John!!

John wrote:

I felt my brain grow two sizes too big reading this wonderful article. Can’t say I have a problem with dystopian sci-fi, but I definitely think she’s onto something, and recommend this to lovers and haters of the genre alike:

http://www.perihelionsf.com/1508/article_1.htm

Great quote:
Chicken Little Syndrome may not have a place in the DSM-5 Manual of psychological disorders, but it spreads faster than Bird Flu and Ebola. The chicken story began twenty-five centuries ago as a rabbit, by the way. The wise Buddha was trying to teach people to keep cool and carry on, as we say today. In his parable, a rabbit hears the noise of a falling fruit and instigates a stampede among the other animals—“the world is coming to an end!”—until a lion halts them, investigates the cause of the panic and restores calm.

I like that lion. I like his lesson on the value of deductive reasoning and investigation.

Thank you John, supporter of Awesome Indie authors P.T. Hilton, Harvey Click, Dan C. Rinnart, Mark Capell, Lindy Moone, E.J. Robinson and E.E. Giorgi!

John is too modest to include himself on his own Awesome Indie list, but I love his Dan Jenkins novels, and if I love ’em, you know they’ve got to be good!

Vine Voice reviewer Carol Kean’s epic article on Dystopian Sci-Fi.

About carolkean

novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic for Liberty Island and Perihelion Science Fiction; native prairie/guerilla gardener; champion of liberty, indie authors & underdogs; one of the top two reviewers in Editors &Preditors Poll 2015; Amazon Vine, NetGalley Top Reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vine Voice reviewer’s epic article on Dystopian Sci-Fi @PerihelionSF

  1. Carol Ervin says:

    Carol, I’ve been thinking about this article. I wish there were a category for speculative fiction about society, but “science fiction” is the only genre we have at present. Your article said, “Cool futuristic technology and awesome science are the main reason I’m drawn to speculative fiction. I avoid military and historical fiction precisely because I already know life can be oh so cruel. I’d rather see hopeful alternatives than reminders of our hubris clashing with nature’s inexorable disregard for human concerns.”
    My interest is different; I’m curious about societies, what makes them work and what harms progress. I’m also curious about people and their effects on society and on each other. My ultimate hope is that we can learn from our mistakes and learn from other people. Technology may give us the means to make a better world, but people can ruin everything with the press of a button. I enjoyed your thoughtful article but did want to stand up for my kind of speculative fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carolkean says:

    Carol E., no author of dystopian fiction need offer any apologetics on the genre. Your “Dell Zero” is stellar. I was just grousing that so MANY, many new novels present the downside of technology and human enterprise. A little balance, please, a little more celebration of human industry and a bit less of the Chicken Little syndrome – that’s all I was saying. Thanks for weighing in. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

