Quoting Passages in Book Reviews (Battered, Tattered, Yellowed, & Creased )

“If you are an author or publisher who believes I’ve quoted too much or otherwise acted in error, politely contact me and let me know which quotes you think better showcase and promote your work.” –Admiral Iron Bombs?

This blogger is keeping a low profile, but I love the blog, and I must appropriate (verb) his/her disclaimer: “As a book reviewer, I find it helpful to quote from an author’s text to give an idea of their prose style, as well as including the book’s cover art, and in some cases examples of interior illustrations. I do this under section 17 U.S.C. § 107 of the Copyright Act of 1976” (the fair use of a copyrighted work for purposes such as criticism, scholarship, or research is not an infringement of copyright).

Oh, and I also review books, solicited or not, but I never make promises, so email me your manuscript if you wish, knowing I may or may not review it.

Review Copies?

I do accept advanced reading and review copies of books; other than making a one-line disclaimer that the copy was provided to me at no cost, I treat the review exactly as I would for a book I went out and paid cold hard currency for. A few stipulations; first, I don’t accept rough manuscripts (unless for some reason the author is well-renowned, in which case it’d be insulting to say no), and second, it helps if the book is in the same style or genres that I work with: science fiction, horror, thriller, and mystery-crime novels, possibly fantasy or spy fiction.

admiral_ironbombs (at) icloud (dot) com

via About This Blog.

About carolkean

novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic for Liberty Island and Perihelion Science Fiction; native prairie/guerilla gardener; champion of liberty, indie authors & underdogs; one of the top two reviewers in Editors &Preditors Poll 2015; Amazon Vine, NetGalley Top Reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

