I have no place to call ‘Home” – Friedrich Schwarz – #YiddishTango

“You are not wanted here.”  We all feel alone in the world, at some time or other, exiled, alienated, lost. Nobody captures that better than Jewish musicians of the Holocaust. Friedrich Schwarz and his music – with the names and music of hundreds of other Jewish composers killed in the Holocaust – must not be forgotten. (Not to mention art, literature, Diary of Ann Frank)

Over and over, I listen to  John Hendrik’s plaintive voice singing  Ich hab’ kein Heimatland with  the Marek Weber Orchester. The upright bass, pulsing like a heart, is a vital element. Click on that song title and listen.

Bella Liebermann (youtube) writes:

Many Jewish composers perished in the turmoil of the Second World War and the majority of their music, their songs also perished along with their authors. From hundreds of songs, only a few remain. One of such songs is “Jewish Tango” written by Friedrich Schwarz. This song is his last composition. Schwarz named it “Jewish Tango”. He wrote in Paris in 1933 during his escape from the Nazis. The very next day he was found dead in the hotel. The circumstances of his death remain unknown.

“Jewish Tango”

I lost my home country, I have no Motherland.
I do not have anything on this Earth and
I wander from place to place and stay where I desire.
I have no right to be happy –
Even golden shiny ray of the sun does not reach me.
I’m so lonely on this Earth. Tell me why?
When I think tranquility and peace are finally found then they are instantly lost –
Thus the show must go, thus and I.
I have no safe haven. I have no place to call ‘Home”….

About carolkean

novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic for Liberty Island and Perihelion Science Fiction; native prairie/guerilla gardener; champion of liberty, indie authors & underdogs; one of the top two reviewers in Editors &Preditors Poll 2015; Amazon Vine, NetGalley Top Reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

