Death Is When It All Begins: “Heaven” sci-fi series by @AuthorLLFine

In the year 2102, only the poor must die. The rich can afford to upload their consciousness into a cyber realm called Heaven, and live there happily ever after. Or do they…

Any novel inspired by The Matrix or Ray Kurzweil’s The Singularity is Near normally will not get my attention. L.L. Fine, however, got me like this:

On August 18th, 2013, my father passed away.

A week earlier, in the morning, we had a merry family dinner. He was staying at our house after many years of living abroad. He played with his grandchildren, had fun with the cats, and went to the living room to rest on the couch.

After an hour, in his sleep, he had a stroke …

My father died and I had a pain-filled hole in my heart and life. And inside this hole, thoughts sprouted.

What does Google have to do with it? That, too, got me to look. Fine writes:

Google’s huge effort to enhance human reach, longevity and consciousness is another major influence. I truly think this company is the key to the future of mankind. Ah, and one more thing: I don’t want to die.

Die we must, and decline with age we will, unless science fiction’s imagined tools to achieve lasting youth for decades (centuries, even) should come to pass.

“Google wants you to live forever” – Heaven  

“Heaven” is free today as an ebook. I downloaded it but haven’t even read page one yet. Normally I wouldn’t even consider it. But a father died at age 66, and my dad will soon turn 81. I can’t ignore this:

 On August 18th, 2013, my father passed away.

And this book was born.

About Carol K

Editor, author, novelist, book critic for Perihelion Science Fiction; native prairie/guerilla gardener; champion of indie authors, underdogs, lost causes, and liberty; Amazon Vine, NetGalley Top Reviewer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment